Skip to main content
Museum visit


Learn More

We call our curriculum “English and Textual Studies” (ETS) to acknowledge the breadth and diversity of the texts we study. The department’s creative writing courses will develop your skills as a writer of poetry and fiction and help you become a critical reader of your own work.

Learn More



The Department of English at Syracuse University offers three graduate programs: a Master's degree of Fine Arts in creative writing, and M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in English.


Creative Writing

Learn More

The three-year M.F.A. program in Creative Writing gives promising fiction writers and poets an opportunity to practice their art with dedicated fellow writers. This close-knit community is committed to addressing the challenges of the literary process and concentrates on the craft and quality of literary writing.

Learn More
Image linkGeorge SaundersImage linkJuly 2017 Alumni of the Month! Angela Ko (2014)Image linkMarry KarrImage linkETS Conference presentationsImage linkAdam Kozaczka receives inaugural Hughes Memorial Fellowship

Upcoming Events

Orientation for new graduate ETS TAs

Aug 22, 2017, 9:00 PM


Orientation for new ETS TAs in the PhD program will be held on Tuesday, August 22....

First Day of Classes

Aug 28, 2017, 8:00 AM

Campus wide

Latest News

George Saunders longlisted for Man Booker Prize

Aug 11, 2017, 12:00 PM

George Saunders, Professor in our MFA in Creative Writing Program, has been longlisted for the prestigious Man Booker Prize for his debut novel, Lincoln in the Bardo. The Man Booker Prize describes it...

New ETS Courses

Aug 11, 2017, 12:00 PM

Two new ETS courses are open for enrollment this fall:...